The Voynich Ninja

Full Version: Matching planet labels
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
Not sure if this belongs to Astrology or Astronomy  Dodgy

I've spent a few days learning about possible ways of matching planets on f67r2 and created a rather lengthy page about this. It's my first attempt writing about VMS, hope you enjoy it! There are pictures, and charts and even some computer noises  Rolleyes

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

Quick summary of the most interesting results:

The chart on f67r2 has a very distinct pattern of planetary labels with a four-in-a-row sequence: 111101010100, that resembles actual astronomical or
astrological charts. If this chart depicts a real astrological or astronomical configuration we can make some guesses about which label belongs to which
planet, considering only where the labels are placed on the circle without trying to interpret the labels themselves.

I tried recreating various astrological patterns and comparing them to f67r2 and found a good match with a partial domicile chart. After this I
encountered the same pattern in 1490x - 1500x editions of De Sphere Mundi. If it's the same pattern, in Voynich manuscript it's rotated 160 degrees
clockwise (putting Jupiter on top).

I've also simulated real sky configurations of the XI - XV centuries and compared them to VMS and De Sphaere Mundi charts.

It's possible to create potential mappings between various labels on f67r2 and astrological/astronomical concepts using this information.

It's hard to put any exact probabilities on these mappings, but overall they look like an interesting venue for in-depth research.

Attaching an image that shows f67r2 with the domicile planetary chart from De Sphaere Mundi put over it, and the label correspondence between two charts.