The Voynich Ninja

Full Version: Qasr mosaic leopard and VMS Leo/August image
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
While browsing images of old mosaics looking for similarities with VMS imagery the other day, I came across this interesting image of a leopard from the Qasr mosaics, located in what is now Libya, that bears some interesting similarities to the VMS Leo/August image:

[Image: attachment.php?aid=451]

For one thing, the body shape is certainly similar.  I'm not good with animals, but I have always thought that the VMS image looked more like a leopard or similar species of big cat than like a lion, and I know I'm not the only person to make that observation.

The second similarity is the coloration.  The VMS Leo/August animal is blue, the only animal among those in the Zodiac section to be colored that way.  The Qasr mosaic leopard is also blue, and while a few other animals depicted in the Qasr mosaic are also blue, most are not.  Maybe this is a total coincidence, or maybe there was some established convention for coloring leopards in this way.

The third similarity is the tree in the background of the Qasr mosaic image, which is similar in both position and shape to the end of the tail of the VMS animal.

It's interesting to look at these similarities in light of other comparisons that have been made between the VMS Leo/August image and Western European Zodiacs.  For instance, on JKP's site we find a comparison with the Zodiac from the du Barry Book of Hours (which seems to be a fairly typical western European Leo depiction):

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

[Image: duBarryLeo.jpg]