The Voynich Ninja

Full Version: Marci's letters to Kircher, revisited
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
After all the talk about Marci's memory in the other thread, I decided to revisit Marci's correspondences with Kircher, and as usual, when re-reading something one always finds something new.  

There are three letters from Marci to Kircher:  one from 1640, one from 1641, and one from 1665 (the one found with the VMS).  I am using You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view. as my resource for the translations here.  

I think I should note right off the bat that, professionally, I have a master's degree in history with an emphasis on American history and interwar European history.  So, medieval / early Renaissance history is not my specialty, but I do think very carefully about how I read a primary source.  And this time when re-reading the Marci to Kircher correspondences, I tried to put all assumptions out the window and figure out how I would describe each letter to a colleague who knew nothing about the context of the VMS controversy, who perhaps was interested in the letters for some other reason.  

The main thing I immediately noticed after reading all three in chronological order was that I felt like I was playing a Sesame Street game of "One Of These Is Not Like The Other One".

My thoughts on the 1640 and 1641 letters: