The Voynich Ninja
Vectoring Words (Word Embeddings) - Computerphile - Printable Version

+- The Voynich Ninja (https://www.voynich.ninja)
+-- Forum: Voynich Research (https://www.voynich.ninja/forum-27.html)
+--- Forum: Analysis of the text (https://www.voynich.ninja/forum-41.html)
+--- Thread: Vectoring Words (Word Embeddings) - Computerphile (/thread-2987.html)

Vectoring Words (Word Embeddings) - Computerphile - radapox - 24-10-2019

Just stumbled upon this Computerphile clip. I don't exactly follow the process, but it's a method of mapping word similarities (in the "semantic" sense), based purely on their occurrence within comparable contexts in a given corpus, not on some understanding of their actual "meaning". The results are surprisingly accurate. At the risk of sounding like a total noob here, could an approach like this be at all useful for the VM text? If so, it's probably already been done. In which case I'd love to learn more about it.

RE: Vectoring Words (Word Embeddings) - Computerphile - MarcoP - 24-10-2019

A while ago I played around with one or two implementations of similar methods. I had no success. Even if Voynichese should one day prove to be meaningful, there are good reasons why these methods do not work:
  • These methods require huge data-sets: likely, orders of magnitude larger than the VMS.
  • Voynichese has more word-types per N tokens than English (see You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.). These methods work by assuming that words X and Y are similar if they both tend to appear near words Z and K. But in Voynichese you likely will have Z1 and Z2, K1 and K2 etc. If two words are not identical, they are different words and these algorithms make no use of them.