The Voynich Ninja
Scribal hands and Currier languages - Printable Version

+- The Voynich Ninja (https://www.voynich.ninja)
+-- Forum: Voynich Research (https://www.voynich.ninja/forum-27.html)
+--- Forum: Analysis of the text (https://www.voynich.ninja/forum-41.html)
+--- Thread: Scribal hands and Currier languages (/thread-1523.html)

Pages: 1 2

Scribal hands and Currier languages - Koen G - 14-02-2017

While writing my latest blog post, I read on Rene's site You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view. that Currier concluded that six to eight scribes wrote in the manuscript. That's main text, ignoring marginalia. I have no experience with telling apart different handwritings, so I thought I'd ask here.

Has this been confirmed? Has anyone else studied this in detail? 
Of how many hands can we be certain? Again, only considering core text, not marginalia or quire numbers.
And how do the different hands correspond to Currier A and B? 

And are we even certain about the clean distinction between these "languages" to begin with?

RE: Scribal hands and Currier languages - Anton - 14-02-2017

When "browsing MS" in Rene's website, you'll find information about the "Currier hand" for each folio.

As I recall from Prescott Currier's presentation, he was not specific anbout the hands, he only claimed that up to 8 are there, but he produced no hand-to-folio mapping.

About the Currier languages, we have a separate thread for that here.

RE: Scribal hands and Currier languages - Koen G - 14-02-2017

I was rather wondering to what extent this is reliable, or if anyone else has come up with a classification of the different hands.

RE: Scribal hands and Currier languages - -JKP- - 15-02-2017