The Voynich Ninja
Discussion of the Konstellations - Printable Version

+- The Voynich Ninja (https://www.voynich.ninja)
+-- Forum: Voynich Research (https://www.voynich.ninja/forum-27.html)
+--- Forum: Imagery (https://www.voynich.ninja/forum-43.html)
+--- Thread: Discussion of the Konstellations (/thread-1265.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Discussion of the Konstellations - Koen G - 08-12-2016

I have been studying Quire 13 for many months now, and have written quite a lot about it. I thought it would be a good idea to make a thread where I can share the results of my analyses. And hopefully discuss your comments, questions, criticisms or additional ideas.

I decided to do my own "Jackson sequence" and call these things Konstellations because my name starts with a K. There is a good reason to not call them "constellations" because they diverge from standard depictions in a relatively consistent way.

What?
A Konstellation is two things at once, a synthesis of:
  1. A scene in an Ovidian myth, part of a narrative sequence that spans one or two pages.
  2. A depiction of an Aratean constellation.
I use Ovidian and Aratean in the sense "like Ovid" and "like Aratus". I am not certain that these specific authors were the actual sources.

Why?
I don't know - we will only be sure when we can read the text. It is known that myth and constellations have had a symbiotic relationship since times immemorial, and they were often transmitted together. See for example the Aratea tradition and the works of popular authors like Ovid and Hyginus. We also know that quite a number of Roman authors, like Cicero, made (creative) translations of Aratus' poem. The translation of Greek astronomical works was seen as a rite of passage or a matter of prestige, and many of these works survived into the middel ages, where they were translated and/or adapted again. We also know that many works have been lost.