The Voynich Ninja

Full Version: Greatest unexpected clues about VMS?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
What are the clues/hints/part of the VMS that struck you as completely unexpected?
Perhaps things that are even against what youd expect to find in the time period or against your own preconceptions about the VMS?
Or maybe they coincide with your ideas but this clue was still unexpected?
My greatest unexpected hint is in the middle of the book, hidden under plane sight.
is it a boeing 747?
bing bing bing.
lol
Okay, Pyth -- I'll bite.

Keep in mind I'm coming up on my one year anniversary at this problem that is the VM, so I am still a newbie, but here are my impressions/opinion on this topic.

I am coming to realize that there is really nothing in the VM that is truly "unexpected," only avenues of investigation that haven't been fully researched.  Or perhaps, if they have been fully researched, the extensive amount of time since the manuscript was written (and the attitudes prevalent during that intervening time about the possible "evils" of written work) or the vagaries of academic scanning means that the materials needed to see a particular aspect of the manuscript as "expected" are just not available.

That's not to say there there is nothing unusual or even unique about the manuscript, just that the great, great majority of what is there can be found elsewhere, in parallel forms.  Given the situation it is going to be very difficult to ever definitely say that any part of it (including the text and its characteristics) are somehow telling "clues" to who, what, where, when and why than merely saying its the product of the times (which I see as the 15th century).