The Voynich Ninja

Full Version: Photoshopping Images
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi all,

Just for fun, I decided to download a photo editing program and attempt to 'clean up' the rosettes page.  I carefully airbrushed out the dark lines and damaged caused by the folds in the vellum, and then did my best to redraw in any of the drawings and text which had been lost due to repeated folding of the page.

I'm a beginner at studying Voynich, but I'm even more of a newbie at photo editing so I'm sure most could do better.  And I fully recommend people to try it themselves!  The reason?  By zooming up very close to the document, and carefully removing imperfections, it forced me to scrutinize the page even more closely than I had done before, and I actually noticed a lot of things I hadn't picked up on before.

I've attached a scaled down image to show my attempts.  If anyone would like a full-page large size copy of the image, I'm happy to send one across, but with enough time and patience, I'm confident my own attempts could be far surpassed!

PS, as the image is still quite large, the image attached doesn't show up fully in the post.. you have to right-click and go to "show image" to see the full page... sorry!

PPS... is it sacrilegious to mess around with the document images like this?!?

G.
Hi Klingmann,
You've done a very nice job here. I had a go at doing a similar thing but didn't do it well as you have.

Like you say, you notice more when you're zoomed in trying to clean it up.
Until I tried i had never really noticed the 2 diagonally opposing suns( top-left, bottom right )
and the amount of stuff that surrounds the sphere on the top-right.
(06-02-2021, 12:34 AM)RobGea Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.Hi Klingmann,
You've done a very nice job here. I had a go at doing a similar thing but didn't do it well as you have.