The Voynich Ninja

Full Version: Jan Gryll z Gryllowa
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
In "Historie literatury české: dodavky a doplňky, Volume 1" by Josefa Jungmanna, which is availabe on google books, there is a mention of a Jan Gryll who was sent to Rudolf II in 1577. Among other people, this book also containts info on de Tepenec.
Quote:Gryll, z Gryllowa, Jan. - Narozen w Rakowníku 1531; radní městský tamže; wyslán r. 1577 k Rudolfowi II. o potwrzení privilegií města, powýšen od císaře do stawu zemanského. Muž práwa milowný, nábožný. Umřel 1600.
I have zero knowledge of czech so I am relying on google translate (how shameful), but "wyslán r. 1577 k Rudolfowi II." translates as "he was sent to Rudolf in 1577"
Anyway I made a quick search on You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view. and he appears to be the author of "Sečtení rokův od počátku světa", dated 1588.
This book is digitalized, and there is some gothic writing on the cover. Not surte if the practice of writing on the cover like this was common, but it took my attention:
[Image: gryll1.png][Image: gryll2.png]
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
If Gryll was part of Rudolf's court or in close contact, maybe he came to know about the VMS?
The writing on the cover seems to be a case where 'old vellum'  was reused to make the cover, i.e. the writing was there before.

There seem to be two Jan Gryll's, and I guess they are father and son. The one that was in contact with Rudolf seems to have been the father.

His name does not appear in the very long list of people who have been recorded here:

Interesting coincidence: the book by Josef Jungmann was one of the sources used by Voynich's staff (Herbert Garland) to find out who could be the mysterious  "Jacobus de Tepenec"  who put his Ex Libris in the Voynich MS (in which Garland was successful). I wonder if he used a translation.